70-659 Part 14

Managing Snapshots

Dealing with snapshots can be a bit of a headache. First, best practice mandates that you never use snapshots in a production environment. The second headache is dealing with them especially using snapshot trees. Keep in mind that snapshots should only be used in a test environment.

A snapshot is a saved point in time of a VM. When a snapshot is taken, an AVHD file is created, which creates a differencing disk of sorts.

In the properties of a VM under Management, you can specify the location of where the snapshot will be saved. By default, the VM folder is the save location.

clip_image001

Taking a snapshot can be done from a few places; in Hyper-V Manager, from the VM Connection Tool console, or through VMM.

clip_image003

clip_image005

Reverting a VM is the act of applying a snapshot and setting the VM back to the point when the snapshot was taken.

Applying a snapshot can be done by selecting Revert from the menu bar of the Virtual machine Connection Tool, right-clicking the snapshot in Hyper-V Manager and then selecting Apply.

clip_image006

Deleting a snapshot will delete the snapshot from the console, but the AVHD file will remain until the VM is turned off.

Merging snapshots involves combing the differences of multiple snapshots back into the parent disk. For example you would do this if you had a snapshot tree and wanted to combine them back into the parent.

Here’s more information about deleting a snapshot:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/virtual_pc_guy/archive/2009/04/15/what-happens-when-i-delete-a-snapshot-hyper-v.aspx

Comments are closed.